The old Blacksmith’s Workshop was founded by Gudmundur J Sigurdsson in 1913, but Gudmundur came back to Thingeyri in 1903 after learning the trade in Denmark. The machine shop was one of the first if its kind in Iceland and leading in the development in the trade.
Today the museum includes all the old machines and blacksmith operation are still in their almost original state. This is a living museum, where visitors can experience the old machine shop as time has stood still. An amazing atmosphere for all ages.