The string of Pearls (Perlufesti)
The sculpture park String of Pearls in the western part of Hljómskálagarðurinn was opened on Women’s Rights Day, 19 June 2014. The park is in memory of the founding women of Icelandic sculpture and is part of the Reykjavík Art Museum. The garden’s name refers to the circular attitude of the works towards each other. Also, it emphasizes that the women artists and their works are unique, like pearls on a string. In the park are works by six women who were pioneers in sculpture in Iceland and abroad. The oldest is Gunnfríður Jónsdóttir who was born in 1889, then Nína Sæmundsson born 1892, Tove Ólafsson born 1909, Þorbjörg Pálsdóttir born 1919, Ólöf Pálsdóttir born 1920, and Gerður Helgadóttir born 1928. The Perlufesti is only a short walk from the centre of town.
Reykjavík 24/04/2022 10:51 – 11:49 : A7R IV : FE 200-600mm G
Photographs and text : Páll Stefánsson