The island in the capital
Örfiri is the former name of an island you can walk to at low tide. There are several in the country called Örfirisey; one of the islands is in Kollafjörður, on the west and north side of Reykjavík Harbor. It has been landlocked to the capital by a landfill for a century. The largest fishing company in the country, Brim, is located on the island. Almost all fuel imports to the country are also pumped ashore in Örfirisey. Storage tanks for oil/gasoline are located there, but the first tanks were built in Örfirisey around 1950. There are many other companies in Örfirisey; for example, chocolate, natural ointments and, for a short time, tents are produced there. There is also the School of Photography with its facilities, as well as several companies related to tourism. However, the fishing industry takes up a lot of space since a large part of Reykjavík Harbor is on and around the island. Icelandic Times / Land & Saga walked around the island in the wind and rain today. The atmosphere on the so-called island is unique; the area is a world of its own and close to the city centre. The city of Reykjavík acquired the island in 1906.
Reykjavík 31/08/2022 : A7RIV, FE 1.2/50mm GM
Photographs & text: Páll Stefánsson