• English
  • Icelandic

THE OLD BLACKSMITH’S WORKSHOP

The old Blacksmith’s Workshop was founded by Gudmundur J Sigurdsson in 1913, but Gudmundur came back to Thingeyri in 1903 after learning the trade in Denmark. The machine shop was one of the first if its kind in Iceland and leading in the development in the trade.

Today the museum includes all the old machines and blacksmith operation are still in their almost original state. This is a living museum, where visitors can experience the old machine shop as time has stood still. An amazing atmosphere for all ages.

The old Blacksmith’s Workshop is a part of Westfjords Heritage Museum.

Related Articles

    Lá Art museum

    LÁ ART MUSEUM

    LÁ ART MUSEUM

    LÁ Art Museum (Listasafn Arnesinga) in Hveragerði hosts four to five abitious exhibitions every year. The museum is open...

    Numismatic Museum

    Numismatic Museum

    The Central Bank and National Museum of Iceland jointly operate a numismatic collection according to an agreement ratifi...

    The House at Eyrarbakki

    The House at Eyrarbakki

    Húsið (The House) at Eyrarbakki is one of Iceland’s oldest buildings, built in 1765 when Danish merchants were allowed t...

    SIGURJÓN ÓLAFSSON MUSEUM

    SIGURJÓN ÓLAFSSON MUSEUM

    Exhibition:  TWO COMRADES ASGER JORN & SIGURJÓN ÓLAFSSON By showing same period works by Asger Jorn alongside sel...


Hafnarstræti 10 470 Þingeyri

+354 456 3291

[email protected]

www.nedsti.is


May 15th -Sept. 30 9:00-17:00


  • English
  • Icelandic

CATEGORIES

NEARBY SERVICES